Positioned in the Heart of Perth overlooking Elizabeth Quay is Perth's iconic heritage listed Art Deco complex - Lawson Apartments. Built in an era when craftsmanship and style were valued and lovingly restored to original condition by artisans of today.
Located on the 5th floor (Sub Penthouse) of this iconic building the apartment offers simply stunning views over Elizabeth Quay. This Sub Penthouse has a south facing balcony with amazing views across Elizabeth Quay. Lovingly refurbished to original standards with beautifully maintained period features that include: high ornate ceilings, sash windows, art deco chandeliers & Jarrah floors. Even the bathroom has stunning views across Government House & Supreme Court Gardens.
The building, originally known as Lawson Flats, is an eleven storey art deco apartment block, constructed in 1937. It included a restaurant and a private club, the Perth Club, at the lower three floors and apartments above. The building was designed by Sydney architects Hennessy, Hennessy & Co in association with local architect, Reginald Summerhayes for rental purposes as a companion piece to the neighbouring Colonial Mutual Life building (1936–1980) on St Georges Terrace. When constructed, the two Colonial Mutual Life buildings were amongst the tallest in Perth. The design features Spanish Mission and Art Deco styled ornamentation, evoking some of the allure of Hollywood. Internally, the H-shaped plan form provides for four apartments per floor, arranged in pairs in the twin palazzi form towers. During World War II, the headquarters of the State Cabinet were located in the building. The apartments were refurbished in 1986, following their sale by Colonial Mutual and they were subsequently strata titled and sold off individually in 1987. It was classified by the National Trust on 4 May 1981 and included on the City of Perth's Municipal Heritage Inventory on 20 December 1985. The Building was placed on the permanent Register of the National Estate on 25 March 1986 and was permanently listed on the State Register of Heritage Places by the Heritage Council of Western Australia on 1 December 1995.